MINUTES OF THE INAUGURAL BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE SEVEN OAKS SCHOOL DIVISION HELD ON MONDAY, NOVEMBER 14, 2022 AT 6:00 P.M., AT THE BOARD OFFICE, 830 POWERS STREET, WINNIPEG, MANITOBA.

PRESENT	Diane Cameron Derek Dabee Teresa Jaworski Evan Krosney Greg McFarlane Edward Ploszay Maria Santos Richard Sawka Tiffany Winchar	Trustee
IN ATTENDANCE	Brian O'Leary Matt Henderson Tony Kreml Jen McGowan Shelley Warkentin Jennifer Maître Clayton Bodkyn Donna Herold Alison Hall	Superintendent Assistant Superintendent Assistant Superintendent Assistant Superintendent Divisional Principal - Initiatives Secretary-Treasurer Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Executive Assistant Executive Assistant

Jennifer Maître in the Chair.

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m.

#### NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS

#### **CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD**

Trustee Dabee nominated Trustee Santos.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations to be closed.

### 22-001 Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Santos was declared elected by acclamation Chairperson of the Board.

#### VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD

Trustee Jaworski nominated Trustee Cameron.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

### 22-002 Vice-Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Cameron was declared elected by acclamation Vice-Chairperson of the Board.

Trustee Santos in the Chair

# CO-CHAIR OF NEGOTIATIONS SEVEN OAKS TEACHERS' ASSOCATION/ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Trustee Santos nominated Trustee Dabee.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

# 22-003 Co-Chair of Negotiations - Seven Oaks Teachers' Association / Advisory Committee

Trustee Dabee was declared elected Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Seven Oaks Teachers' Association / Advisory Committee.

# CO-CHAIRS OF NEGOTIATIONS CANADIAN UNION OF PUBLIC EMPLOYEES

Trustee McFarlane nominated Trustee Ploszay.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

#### 22-004 Co-Chair of Negotiations - Canadian Union of Public Employees

Trustee Ploszay was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Canadian Union of Public Employees Locals No. 731, 949, 2348, 2938.

# CO-CHAIRS OF NEGOTIATIONS EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANTS OF SEVEN OAKS

Trustee Cameron nominated Trustee Jaworski.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

#### 22-005 Co-Chair of Negotiations - Educational Assistants of Seven Oaks

Trustee Jaworski was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Educational Assistants of Seven Oaks.

#### 22-006 REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER BODIES - STANDING COMMITTEES

### **Policy Manual Committee**

- Trustee Diane Cameron
- Trustee Evan Krosney
- Trustee Greg McFarlane

# **Workplace Safety and Health Committee**

Trustee Winchar

### **Accident Review Committee**

- Trustee Cameron
- Trustee Jaworski

#### **Board / SOTA Professional Development Committee**

- Trustee McFarlane
- Trustee Sawka

#### **Educational Leave Committee**

- Trustee Santos
- Trustee Winchar

### Seven Oaks Teachers' Association Negotiations / Advisory Committee

- Trustee Dabee (Co-Chair)
- Trustee Krosnev
- Trustee Santos

# Canadian Union of Public Employees Locals No. 731, 949, 2348 and 2938 Negotiations Committee

- Trustee Ploszay (Co-Chair)
- Trustee Jaworski
- Trustee McFarlane

#### **Educational Assistants of Seven Oaks**

- Trustee Jaworski (Co-Chair)
- Trustee Dabee
- Trustee Sawka

#### **Finance Review Committee**

- Trustee Cameron
- Trustee Jaworski
- Trustee Ploszay

## **Capital Planning Review Committee**

- Trustee Cameron
- Trustee Krosney
- Trustee Sawka

#### 22-007 Representatives on External Committees

### **City of Winnipeg Liaison**

The Board will send the Chair.

# **Metro Coordinating Committee**

The Board will send Co-Chairs of Negotiations.

#### 22-008 Auditors

McFarlane / Cameron

That the auditors for the Seven Oaks School Division for the 2022-2023 school year be K.P.M.G. LLP.

CARRIED

#### 22-009 Solicitor

Dabee / Jaworski

That the solicitors for the Seven Oaks School Division be on a fee for service basis.

CARRIED

### 22-010 Signing Officers

Ploszay / McFarlane

That the signing officers for the Board be the Chairperson or Vice-Chairperson; and the Secretary-Treasurer or the Superintendent.

CARRIED

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting was adjourned at 6:29 p.m.

Maria Santos

Chairperson

Jennifer Maître

Secretary-Treasurer